NEW: Alabama’s Black Belt is officially a National Heritage Area

Eufala is one of the cities in the Black Belt Region. (Alabama State Parks)

After over a decade, 14 counties in Alabama’s Black Belt region have officially been designated a National Heritage Area. Keep reading to learn more.

A decade in the making

Mongtomery Building, Black Belt
Montgomery, Alabama. (Pat Byington / The Bama Buzz)

The designation for Alabama’s Black Belt region was signed into law by President Biden on January 6. The bill will allow up to $1M in federal funding every year to go towards the protection and preservation of Alabama’s Black Belt Region.

Alabama’s US Rep. Terri Sewell has long advocated for the designation and shepherded it through the House of Representatives.

“As a proud daughter of the Black Belt, I’m thrilled that this region will be getting the national recognition it deserves, and I remain endlessly grateful to my colleagues for their support in this worthwhile endeavor.”

US Rep. Terri Sewell

What this means

If you’ve tuning into this journey with us, you know how exciting this news is. ICYMI, here’s what it means:

National Heritage Areas are established by Congress to assist efforts to protect and promote communities that are regarded as distinctive due to their culture, history, resources and environment.

Making the Black Belt a National Heritage Area will designate the area as a place “where historic, cultural and natural resources combine to form cohesive, nationally-important landscapes” under the National Park Service.

“This designation will not only help preserve the rich history of the region, but will also open up new economic and tourism opportunities. As a proud daughter of the Black Belt, I thank my colleagues for passing this critical bill and will continue working to get it signed into law.”

US Rep. Terri Sewell

Want more stories like this delivered straight to your inbox? Sign up for our FREE newsletter!

Callie Puryear
Callie Puryear
Articles: 75