8 inductees & Rick Karle, William Booth to be honored in 2023 by Alabama Sports Hall of Fame

2022 Alabama Sport Hall of Fame inductees and honorees, May 6, 2022. (Pat Byington/The Bama Buzz)

The Alabama Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF) released their 2023 list of inductees and special award winners this month, which includes legendary Alabama, Auburn and UAB standouts, a beloved Birmingham television broadcaster and Alabama high school’s winningest baseball manager.

The Class of 2023 is the 55th class inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame since 1969. 

The eight new members include:

  • Karen Mayson Bahnsen – Mobile native, first female golfer to receive a scholarship at LSU, who coached the Lady Tigers golf team from 1985-2018, claiming 28 team titles.
  • Karlos Dansby – An All-State linebacker and wide receiver from Woodlawn High School in Birmingham, played for Auburn and then 14 years in the NFL.
  • Roman Harper – Olayed safety for the University of Alabama and then 10 years in the NFL, mostly with the New Orleans Saints. In 2010, he helped the Saints win the Super Bowl.
  • Larry Kenon – Born in Birmingham, Keon helped lead Memphis State to the NCAA Championship game. He was both an NBA and ABA all star.
  • Theo Ratliff – A native of Demopolis, Ratliff played for the University of Wyoming. He began his 17 year career in the NBA with the Detroit Pistons, becoming an All-Star in 2001 with the Atlanta Hawks
  • Jackie Sherrill – Sherill played football for the University of Alabama. He made his mark as a head football coach ending up with a career record of 180-120-4—at Texas A&M, Pittsburgh, Washington State and Mississippi State 
  • Gerald Wallace – A Sylacauga native, Wallace played for the University of Alabama. He played for 14 years in the NBA, becoming an All-Star in 2010. 
  • Roddy White. – A star at UAB, White led the nation in receiving yards his senior year. He went on to play 11 seasons with the Atlanta Falcons, which included four consecutive Pro Bowls.

Two additional awards were announced.

Longtime television broadcaster Rick Karle will receive the 2023 ASHOF Mel Allen Media Award. A 24-time Emmy award winner, Karle has won Emmys for everything from “Sports Anchor” to “Sports Performer” to “Sports Host” to “Sports Feature”, with his most recent win coming in June of 2018 for “Best Sports Anchor” in the Southeast. His career has spanned 35 years, primarily in the Birmingham television market.

William Booth, a baseball manager at Hartselle High School, will receive he Frank “Pig” House Award. Booth is the winningest high school baseball manager in state history. The Frank “Pig” House award is given to someone that has performed outstanding service to sports in Alabama and is worthy of special recognition. The award is named after the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame’s first Chairman of the Board who was instrumental in the founding of the Hall of Fame.

Ceremony in 2023—Mark Your Calendars

The 55th Induction Banquet and Ceremony will be held in the Birmingham Ballroom, at the Sheraton Birmingham Hotel, on Saturday, May 13, 2023. For more information or to purchase tickets, please contact the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame Museum at (205) 323-6665.

Pat Byington
Pat Byington
Articles: 397